Setting the monster free…

Maxpower's Blog

Old sins cast long shadows. We drag the sins of our past behind us like a leaking, globulous mass of festering pain, across the rough terrain of our journey through life. Some bridges need burning, others should be left intact so we can find our way back to the important stuff if needed. It is in the choosing, that we often set ourselves up for disappointment.

Of course past things never quite seem to stay where we put them. It’s not uncommon to forget where we are going and instead get distracted by nostalgia, to find ourselves heading back across the bridges we have left uncharred, only to discover that all is not what it once seemed.

abb

I think perhaps, we are all capable of allowing the veil of personal history, distort the reality of what we have left behind us. It’s more than a veil. Time is like a…

View original post 1,167 more words

Advertisements

Richard and Maria (Book 3) Progressing …

Fans of Richard and Maria will be delighted to hear I am fifty-five thousand words into One Alone in the World.

Any guesses as to the identity of the little girl and why she’s carrying a teddy bear?

Who do you think might end alone?

Answer both questions correctly in a comment to be entered in a draw for a signed print copy on publication.

New 5-star review

Illicit Passion

Twists, turns, passion, INTRIGUE….Very much a page turner. I read til my eyes blurred over again and again, needing to know who would survive both physically and emotionally. Then I realised I had started with book 2 in the series! Absolutely a wonderful read.

 

Click the cover to read more reviews on Amazon, plus the early chapters.

A brillant story, emotional and intense.

Latest 5 star review of Dangerous Liaisons

Dangerous Liaisons is an extraordinary story. Ms. Stuart’s writing is sharp and a pleasure to read. I enjoyed the change of pace, of direction even, between parts 1and 2, the second becoming quite dark and even disturbing sometimes. I applaud Ms. Stuart’s choice to create characters who make questionable choices, giving them a realistic dimension that often is often lacking in the romance genre.
A gripping love story that will appeal to everyone with an open mind.

Click the cover to read more reviews and first chapters on Amazon.

What are the odds on that? – Flash Fiction short story

rudders' writing

highway1

What are the odds on that?

highway2 Howard Jackson was a careful man. He had to be to have gotten away with his twenty-seven murders to date. Today he was hoping to add number twenty-eight to the tally. The young man sitting alone at the table in the service station diner looked a promising candidate. Howard estimated him to be in his late teens, or at most, his early twenties. He doubted if the young man had enough money for another coffee, having watched him nurse the one he had for over an hour. It wouldn’t be long before one of the staff insisted he buys another or be on his way. With the rain now pelting down outside, Howard was optimistic, knowing the weary hitch-hiker wouldn’t relish the prospect of walking however far to the next rest-stop. He had a knack for spotting the most vulnerable and trusting ones.

“Another…

View original post 816 more words

I Saw a Starburst to Flames by J. R. Lamar

This is my review of one of the best books of poetry for children I’ve had the honour to read.

I Saw a Starburst to Flames by J. R. Lamar comprises about a hundred poems formed as quatrains. This has the effect of giving them a rhythm that draws the reader inexorably onwards. Each is colourfully illustrated, very often with a wry sense of humour compatible with the subject of the poem. My favourites include A New Pet Mouse, which took me in completely until I reached the last line and realised it was an electronic mouse intended to be attached to a computer. The picture deliberately misleads, showing a chunk of tempting cheese! I liked An Unlikely Duo, and Proud Pet Owner made me laugh aloud. According to my niece, leprechauns are delightful creatures, but this one ends wearing a muzzle. And yes, I did get trapped in A Reading Cage.

The ideas behind the poems in J. R. Lamar’s I Saw a Starburst to Flames are incredibly diverse and likely to hold the attention of children around eight to eleven or twelve, and this is necessary; the language used is demanding. There is a delightful irreverence in poems like My Pet May Be Smarter Than Me, which will certainly appeal to young readers. The “pet” in that one is Mother! Shrinking Real Estate shows growth and you will never guess how cleverly; it involves words, drawings, and the changing size of font. I suggest you buy this book for the children in your life, but not so it arrives just in time to gift-wrap; time to read it yourself is essential.

Click the cover to go to Amazon and find out more.

Dangerous Liaisons is FREE this weekend!

Now’s your chance to taste the Royal Command Family Saga – Click the Pic & it’s yours.

Hooked? Not to worry. The other three books are set at low prices all over the world, and they are free to read with Kindle Unlimited.

Please leave a review on Amazon. I always read them and it’s marvellous to know what you liked, and useful to know what you didn’t!